Phibsboro Chess Club 50th Anniversary

Brief History
Established in 1954 Phibsboro Chess Club celebrates its 50th Anniversary in 2004. Like most new chess clubs starting up its membership was small, approximately 8 members. The inaugural meeting was held in 363 North Circular Road where Mr Brendan Neville was elected as the clubs first secretary. the membership of the club changed many times over the intervening years. However the determination to build up the club paid dividends and Phibsboro chess club now has one of the largest memberships in the Leinster Leagues. The Club won its first trophy The Ennis Shield in 1958, however the ultimate prize, the division one trophy the Armstrong Cup eluded us until the 2001/2002 season, since then we have won it a total of four consecutive seasons the club can also boast a number of Irish Champions among its members.

Irish Chess Champions
Michael Littleton - 1962, 1965
Stephen Brady(FM) - 1991, 1992, 2001, 2003, 2006, 2007
Richard O'Donovan - 1996
Joe Ryan(FM) - 1997, 2004
Colm Daly(FM) - 1998, 1999

Irish Correspondence Chess Champions
John Nolan - 1987, 1989
Christian Leonard - 1988

Correspondence Chess International Master
David Salter earned the title of Correspondence Chess International Master in 2002.