Heidenfeld Trophy Result Round 7 – Narrow Win v Blanchardstown

Our Heidenfeld trophy side had an excellent narrow away win (4.5 – 3.5) against a highly rated Blanchardstown side. Wins for Conor, Colm, Art and Mick Germaine, and a draw for Dave. Dario and Michael were very unlucky in their games, and on board one, John got some revenge against Kevin, for last years win.

Onwards and upwards. Our next game is a North Dublin derby versus Elm Mount.

Armstrong Cup lost 5-3 to Bray

A depleted Armstrong Cup team lost 5-3 to Bray last night. Excellent wins for subs Bogdan and Mohammad, draws for Kevin and Conor. Thanks to the subs Bogdan, Mohammad, Tom and Micheal for playing.

On a funny note our two victor on the night and one of our draws came from the guys who were late due to the traffic being so bad, but they made up for the 40+ minutes or so they were down on time and contributed to a great result.

2014 Mick Germaine Cup

“The Leinster Chess Union (LCU) is pleased to announce that this year’s Mick Germaine Cup competition will take place on Saturday 11th October 2014 in the Ierne Sports and Social Club, Gracepark Road, Drumcondra, Dublin 9, home of the Elm Mount Chess Club. The event is for teams of beginners/novices. Players must be under the age of 16 on 1 September 2014. Entries to Pat Fitzsimons, at m[email protected]. click here for further details”.

Mick Germaine Cup 2014 – flyer

Leinster Leagues Final Round

The final round of the leagues will be held on Sunday 13th April 2014. The venue is the Teachers Club, 36 Parnell Square West, Dublin 1. Divisions 2, and 4 (Heidenfeld and O’Hanlon) will be played in the morning. Divisions 1, 3 and 5 (Armstrong, Ennis and BEA) will be played in the afternoon. The morning session will commence at 10am and the afternoon session will commence at 3pm. Teams must bring their own boards sets and clocks. Prizes will be presented at the completion of each session.

Congratulations to our Armstrong and BEA Teams for winning their respective leagues.

Congratulations to our Armstrong and BEA Teams for winning their respective leagues. Details here on the LCU website.

Phibsboro Chess Club Leinster League Armstrong Cup Winning Team 2013Pictured above the 2003 Armstrong Cup winning team – John Nolan, Stephen Brady, David Salter, Herbert Scarry, Alan Reis, Kevin Butler(Holding Cup), Lukasz Kwiatek and Ivan Diaz Fernandez.

Phibsboro Armstrong Team Captain Kevin Butler with Paul Cassidy (Leinster Chess Union)

Armstrong Team Captain Kevin Butler with Paul Cassidy (LCU).